January 30, 2020
medieval academy of america logo

The Medieval Academy of America – the largest scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting the study of the middle ages, and a member organization of the American Council of Learned Societies – has announced that Dr. Katherine L. Jansen, Ordinary Professor of History at The Catholic University of America, is one of six newly elected Fellows of the Academy.

Election as a Fellow of the Academy is a signal honor for scholars of medieval studies.  At any given time there are a maximum of 125 Fellows, and up to 75 Corresponding Fellows based outside the U.S.  Professor Jansen’s induction as a Fellow will take place at the Medieval Academy’s annual meeting in March, in Berkeley, CA.

Professor Jansen joins a short list of exceptionally distinguished Catholic University medievalists who previously received this honor: Thomas Shahan (Professor, Civil and Canon Law, Patristics, and Latin, 1891-1927), Roy Joseph Deferrari (Professor, Greek and Latin, 1918-1960); Stephan Kuttner (Professor, Canon Law, 1940-1964); Brian Tierney (Professor, History, 1951-1959); David Herlihy (M.A., History, 1953); Kenneth Pennington (Professor Emeritus, Law and Canon Law); Maureen Miller (M.A., History, 1983); and Uta-Renate Blumenthal (Professor Emerita, History).

Professor Michael Kimmage, Chair of the Department of History, commented: “Our Department was delighted to hear of this high honor for Professor Jansen. It signifies an extraordinary record of scholarly achievement, with many further achievements to come.”

Professor Jansen acknowledges: “I am deeply honored to be elected as a Fellow of the Medieval Academy of America and to join the list of fellows affiliated with Catholic University.  It is humbling to be enrolled in the company of so many of my academic heroes who people the roster of Fellows and Corresponding (International) Fellows.  I am grateful to my colleagues in the Department of History and the university administrators who fostered my work with leave time.  And I hope one day to see some of our terrific graduate students honored similarly.”